Solar Bears announce 2018 Protected List

2018 Protected List

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Orlando Solar Bears have announced their 2018 ECHL Protected List this afternoon. The team has included 23 players on its Protected List, including 11 forwards, 10 defensemen and two goaltenders.

Out of the club’s Protected List, Orlando has retained the rights to five players who will have veteran status for the 2018-19 season (Eric Baier, Chris Crane, Kale Kerbashian, Mike Monfredo and Sean Zimmerman), and three rookies (Tommy Davis, Keegan Harper and Curtis Miske). ECHL teams will announce their Season-Ending Roster on June 15, and can begin to sign players to contracts on June 16.

FORWARDS: Robbie Baillargeon, Milos Bubela, Justin Buzzeo, Chris Crane (V), Hunter Fejes, Kale Kerbashian (V), Chris LeBlanc, Curtis Miske (R), Joe Perry, Kyle Rankin, Tayler Thompson

DEFENSEMEN: Eric Baier (V), Chris Bradley, Tommy Davis (R), Keegan Harper (R), Sam Jardine, Aleksandr Mikulovich, Mike Monfredo (V), Adam Phillips, Nolan Valleau, Sean Zimmerman (V)

GOALTENDERS: Matt Hackett, Ryan Massa

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

  1. Signed an SPC in 2017-18 with the Member, and has not been traded or released, OR
  2. Signed an SPC in 2017-18, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, OR
  3. Had received a Qualifying Offer last summer for the current Season, DID NOT sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, OR
  4. Has been suspended by the Member or League, and has not been traded or released, OR
  5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2017-18 Regular Season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, OR
  6. Has executed the ECHL Retirement Form, and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all Future Consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 13 and that teams must submit their Season-Ending Roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 15.

Season-Ending Rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2017-18.

2018-19 Season Ticket Memberships:

Season Ticket Memberships for the seventh season of ECHL Orlando Solar Bears hockey are now on sale. Full and Half-Season memberships are both available, starting as low as $270. For more information, call (407) 951-8200 or visit

About the Orlando Solar Bears:

The Orlando Solar Bears are members of the ECHL, the premier “AA” hockey league in North America, and have qualified for the Kelly Cup Playoffs in four of six seasons. The Solar Bears are also the proud affiliate of the NHL’s Toronto Maple Leafs and the AHL’s Toronto Marlies. The Solar Bears are owned and operated by the Orlando Magic and the DeVos Family, and play at the Rink at Amway Center, the 2012 Street and Smith’s Sports Business Journal Sports Facility of the Year.

Officially licensed Orlando Solar Bears replica team jerseys, apparel, and headwear can be purchased at